Public Document Pack

General Purposes & Audit Committee - Mayoralty & Honorary Freedom Selection Sub-Committee Agenda



To: Councillors Tony Newman, Clive Fraser, Simon Hall, Tim Pollard and Jason Perry

Reserve Members: Pat Clouder, Maddie Henson, Toni Letts, Jason Cummings and Mario Creatura

A meeting of the **General Purposes & Audit Committee - Mayoralty & Honorary Freedom Selection Sub-Committee** which you are hereby summoned to attend, will be held on **Monday, 28 January 2019** at **6.00 pm** in F10 – Town Hall

JACQUELINE HARRIS BAKER Director of Law and Governance London Borough of Croydon Bernard Weatherill House 8 Mint Walk, Croydon CR0 1EA Annette Wiles 020 8726 6000 x64877 annette.wiles@croydon.gov.uk www.croydon.gov.uk/meetings Friday, 18 January 2019

Members of the public are welcome to attend this meeting. If you require any assistance, please contact the person detailed above, on the righthand side.

N.B This meeting will be paperless. The agenda can be accessed online at www.croydon.gov.uk/meetings



AGENDA - PART A

1. Apologies for absence

To receive any apologies for absence from any Members.

2. Minutes of the Previous Meeting (Pages 5 - 6)

To approve the minutes of the meeting held on 6 November 2018 as an accurate record.

3. Disclosure of Interests

In accordance with the Council's Code of Conduct and the statutory provisions of the Localism Act, Members and co-opted Members of the Council are reminded that it is a requirement to register disclosable pecuniary interests (DPIs) and gifts and hospitality to the value of which exceeds £50 or multiple gifts and/or instances of hospitality with a cumulative value of £50 or more when received from a single donor within a rolling twelve month period. In addition, Members and co-opted Members are reminded that unless their disclosable pecuniary interest is registered on the register of interests or is the subject of a pending notification to the Monitoring Officer, they are required to disclose those disclosable pecuniary interests at the meeting. This should be done by completing the Disclosure of Interest form and handing it to the Democratic Services representative at the start of the meeting. The Chair will then invite Members to make their disclosure orally at the commencement of Agenda item 3. Completed disclosure forms will be provided to the Monitoring Officer for inclusion on the Register of Members' Interests.

4. Urgent Business (if any)

To receive notice of any business not on the agenda which in the opinion of the Chair, by reason of special circumstances, be considered as a matter of urgency.

5. Nomination of Mayor for the Council Year 2019/20

To consider a motion for nomination of the Mayor of Croydon for the municipal year 2019/20.

6. [The following motion is to be moved and seconded as the "camera resolution" where it is proposed to move into part B of a meeting]

General Purposes & Audit Committee - Mayoralty & Honorary Freedom Selection Sub-Committee

Meeting of the Mayoralty & Honorary Freedom Selection Sub-Committee held on Tuesday, 6 November 2018 at 6.30 pm in F5 - Town Hall

MINUTES

Present: Councillors Tony Newman, Clive Fraser, Simon Hall and Jason Perry

Apologies: Councillor Tim Pollard

PART A

11/18 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Cllr Tim Pollard with Cllr Jason Cummings substituting.

12/18 **Disclosures of interest**

There were no disclosures of pecuniary interest.

13/18 **Urgent Business (if any)**

There was no urgent business.

14/18 Grant of Freedom of the Borough

RESOLVED: The Committee resolved to approve the recommendation as set out in the report and to recommend to Special Council to grant Freedom of the Borough to Ms Donna Fraser and Mr Roy Hodgson.

15/18 Civic Awards (Part A)

This item was considered in Part B of the agenda. Please see below.

16/18 Exclusion of the Press and Public

17/18 Civic Awards (Part B)

RESOLVED: The Committee resolved to recommend to Special Council to grant the title of Alderman and Alderwomen as recommended in the report to former Councillors Sara Bashford, Carole Bonner, Mike Fisher, Timothy Godfrey, Dudley Mead, Margaret Mead, Mike Selva, Wayne Trakas-Lawlor, Mark Watson, John Wentworth and Chris Wright.

	The meeting ended at 6.32 pm
Signed:	
Date:	